Decision: Life Vision

Almost everyone agrees that having a life vision is a good thing.  But few folks can state theirs or regularly use their life vision to guide them when they face other decisions.  In Decision Driven® Life, I have framed the Life Vision decision with the following questions:

What is the one-line vision statement that provides focus and direction to my life?  What is my purpose for living?

How does one distinguish a “good” life vision from a mediocre one.  The top 3 factors that I look for:

Leave a legacy: A good life vision aims high and represents an end-of-life outcome that has a lasting positive impact on my world and those in it

Realistic: A good life vision doesn’t aim too high; it matches my abilities and circumstances.  I might want a vision, “To be the NBA’s all-time leading scorer”, but it’s not going to happen

Unique:  A good life vision should be unique to me; not a general statement of my creed or a cliche.  The best vision statements can only be achieved by one individual.

A well-framed life vision flows down to influence the remaining decisions that make up our lives.

About decisiondriven

Innovator in Decision Management, Systems Thinking and System Engineering methods and tools
This entry was posted in Decision Driven Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

