Translating methods into software

I take note that whenever I do a burst of software development to enhance the Decision Driven® Strategy and Life web services, my blogging suffers.  I think that’s because software prototyping, coding and debugging focuses the mind on very small scale decisions, implementation details and problem analysis on why the last coding change produces such weird results.

I’m much more comfortable thinking about how to deliver results to my clients such as:

  • decision speed
  • decision quality
  • decision creativity
  • decision alignment

But wait – the last goal, decision alignment, is the reason I’m adding the Align Roadmaps feature to the web service.  A number of years ago, I discovered that roadmaps (capability, technology, product, business strategy) are really just “decisions put to time”.  Lot’s of companies have one process for making strategic decisions and an entirely separate process for strategic roadmapping.  This is such a waste of energy; keeping 2 sets of books and setting up 2 competing power structures within an organization is never a wise move.

Back to software…  I’m not really a software developer; I’ve had 2 formal classes in software in my entire life.  The first was the intro to computer programming (aka Fortran, Basic) class I took at Rose-Hulman in 1973.  The second and last was the Open Laszlo course that I took in January 2007 to enable me to create Decision Driven® Strategy and Life.  Software development has come a very long way from typing out punch cards at 2 AM in the Rose-Hulman computing center.  Rich internet application languages and component libraries such as Open Laszlo make it possible (not easy) for a methods guy like me to experiment with ways that users can interact with rich methods concepts over the web.  The power of these proven methods and decision patterns can be accessed by anyone and I can continuously strive to make their experience fast, easy and even fun.  Wow!

About decisiondriven

Innovator in Decision Management, Systems Thinking and System Engineering methods and tools
This entry was posted in Decision Driven Innovation, Decision Driven Life, Decision Driven Product Development, Decision Driven Strategy, Decision Patterns and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

