Decision Patterns: Rapid Idea Framing

You can use decision patterns to very quickly frame out any idea for a new product, service or capability.  I just blitzed through the service design decision pattern for a new service offering that I’m contemplating.

This decision pattern contains 26 decisions. Each decision is a “fundamental question/issue that demands an answer/solution“.   The decisions provide the superstructure, skeleton, or framework on which the alternatives (parts of the solution) are hung.

Service Design Decision Pattern-Table View

Service Design Decision Pattern – Table View

Some of these 26 decisions may call for more than one answer (committed alternative) at time.  I may pursue multiple Application Scenarios (aka Use Cases), so the decision model fans out at this point and I have an “instance” of the Value Proposition decision for each application scenario alternative that I pursue.  Because of this fan-out behavior, my rapid Decision Blitz actually created alternatives for 42 decisions.

All this took just 1 hour – and I have a pretty complete concept for a service that I could offer to numerous clients over the next decade.  Decision patterns create very rapid payback solutions!

Service Design Decision Pattern-Tree View

Service Design Decision Pattern – Tree View

I’m not done with my Service Design effort, but my next steps are very clear and simple.  I’ll review the service concept decisions with my first client, identify 3 or 4 high priority decisions that call for some deeper thought (innovation and/or evaluation) and use the Decision Driven® Solutions Framework (DDSF) web service to capture my evaluation and share the results.  If I want to, I can also switch to the time-view of these decisions/alternatives and Presto – I can think through and time-align my roadmap for rolling out this service to the world.

If you’d like to learn how to exploit decision patterns for rapid idea framing, we encourage you to start a Decision Driven® Solutions Framework (DDSF) trial today. Please contact the Decision Driven® Solutions team at trial@decisiondriven.com or solutions@decisiondriven.com.

About decisiondriven

Innovator in Decision Management, Systems Thinking and System Engineering methods and tools
This entry was posted in Decision Driven Strategy, Decision Patterns and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

